My First Year in University Recap!

Fotor0515140312

With the beginning of summer, comes the reminiscing of the school year haha. My freshman year of college was everything I expected and soo much more! There was lots of tears, dancing, kissing, laughing, reading, writing, stressing, failed exercising attempts, secrets shared, friendships made and broken, good news, and most importantly unforgettable memories. I can only thank God for the experience I’ve had and the people I’ve shared it with and look forward to an even better series of events!

A Quick Facts I’ve learnt About University

1. The freshman 15 is soo real tho!! As soon I got home the second thing my mom said to me was that I had gained weight (thnx ma!) but so did every person after that. I cant say I blamed them cause I chose sleep over working out several times i lost count and then there’s the easy access food. Honestly looking back, being surrounded by all the dessert,pizza and fries I could eat, I was doomed from the get go!

2. You have so much free time!! But what you decide to do with will make or break you! You could either study when get out of your last class at 12 o’clock or explore neighboring towns til mid night.

3. Depending on where you go to school, word gets out quick about pretty much everything and everyone! I go to a private university which sizes a significantly smaller student population than a state public college and eventually you know a little bit about everyone before you even meet them!

4. College parties are everything you expect and then some. A few tips are go with friends; always!, do not take open drinks from anyone even if you know the person, tell a friend when you plan to leave with anyone that you met at the party and do not take rides from random strangers!

5. Parties are a great way to socialize and talk to that one person you saw around campus but couldn’t introduce yourself to. However, do not go to parties to find a guy that’s relationship material because that is just not happening hun! The loophole to that though is introducing yourself to the guy/ girl you like, exchange numbers but do not go home with them that night. Instead you arrange to talk outside of the party scene.

6. Have at least one friend with a car and pay for gas. Once again you’ll have so much free time and come one you don’t want to use ALL of it in a stuffy library. Give your friend a $20 or so for gas and explore the theme parks nearby or the malls or neighborhood restaurants!

7. Ask for help, ask for help, ask for help. Chances are, your college has numerous resources available to you, USE THEM! You do happen to be paying for them!

8. If you are bad with time management before college, you need to get it together before because once the ball gets going its going to be really hard to get it together. Having to balance school, a social life, family time, you time takes practice so start right away.

9. High school friend, who? There’s only one person I talk to from high school and that is my best friend since like middle school. I actually had such a hard time keeping in touch with her even though we’re so close! We both had so much going on while we were in school that there just wasn’t time to keep each other updated so were taking time to catch up during the summer. I spoke to my mom twice a week and sometimes went a few months without talking to my family members.

10. The best friendships are the ones that bring you out of your comfort zone and make you open your eyes to opportunities and experiences you never though you would partake in. Those friendships when handled wonderfully are forever!

11. Do not! I repeat DO NOT deny yourself of anything new. Try everything unless you could die from it then really put it in perspective and go with your gut!

xx Miss Tabitha M

Have a question, suggestion or thought? Feel free to leave it here! xx

